Stomach this!

Standard

Many of my family and friends have asked about the daily injections I have to give myself.  So, Saturday, I took some pics of what I do each morning around 05h45.  This is not for the fainthearted or squeemish – so feel free not to look if you are.  Also please note that these pics were taken with my cell phone so are not a great quality.

This is the pack I use, I have another tub fully loaded, this one is almost finished, all the plastic things are syringes in fancy cases, the little glass bottle holds the drug and the flat white things are the alcohol swabs in foil wrappers.

The pack

 I then take, from the pack, just what I need –

Daily dose

I clean the top of the bottle first with the alcohol swab and then load the syringe to the recommended dose (the top of the bottle has a rubber seal that you simply push the syringe through to extract the drug) –

Thanfully not a full syringe is needed

 I then swab a spot on my stomach (I am to inject myself anywhere around my belly button – obviously avoiding an previous spot that may be bruised) –

Sterilizing the area and letting it dry before putting the needle in

and then I pinch the skin and go for it –

Syringe is in

Now believe it or not, this is not the scariest part, what is worse is that once the syringe is in, I then have to pull the plunger back to check that I have not gone into a vein and am not drawing blood – these drugs are to go into the fat layer just below the skin.  Should I hit blood, I have to extract the needle and do it again.

Done, drug injected

Pull the syringe out and all that remains is a slight pink skin and perhaps a tiny spot of blood.  Then, it’s time to yawn…

Did I mention that this is at 05h45?!?!

… and then pack up –

Daily dose done, time to pack used items away and dispose of needle safely

I was given this handy case from the nurses who gave me the drugs –

Purple carrier bag with two tubs of Lucrin (the drugs I am on)

This houses a bunch of extras –

Extra syringes – I also have extra swabs in another side pouch of the bag

I have to be very careful about my used syringes – I keep these in another pouch of the bag to safely dispose of at the docs rooms –

Used syringes in another pocket awaiting safe disposal

All is zipped closed, neat packed away under my bedside cabinet (I do this all in the comfort of my bed – too cold here with mid-winter to get out and do it) –

All packed up in handy carry bag

 That is what I do each day.  I do it first thing so that I can get it over and done with and move onto a nice cuppa tea.  I will have to keep on with this up until two days before they harvest my eggs.  It not easy to do but the quicker I do it the better.  Noddy badge to me for being a big, brave girl.  I’ve even spotted a lovely trophy made out of white wire at a local decor shop that I think I deserve for doing this – hubby hint hint!  

As for side effects – none that cannot be managed, thankfully.  My appetite has increased and I have to snack more to prevent myself from growing weary which seems to happen rather quickly, parts of my body are very sore and I am somewhat bloated but really it is not nearly as bad as I thought it would be.  I had been warned of headaches but have not experience these – hallelujah. 

After my daily drug dose, I move onto my daily dose of Bible time – perhaps it is this that has kept me motivated to get it done and not stall over the drugs so that I can move onto the good stuff – time with my Lord.

3 responses »

  1. Oouch my Boo! I take my hat off to you for doing this! I am a chicken with needles. Thanks for showiung us, makes us really feel part of what you are going through. Lots of love, Mum

    • I am not so much a chicken with needles HOWEVER I never thought I would be able to do this! The reality of it is that I HAVE to do it otherwise I am totally dependant on someone else which is not ideal. I am so chuffed that I am managing, really grows one I think when you can tackle these mountains and overcome them. Thanks Mum. Lots of love.

  2. Eish – well done! I wouldnt be able to do it – I faint at the sight of a sewing needle, nevermind one that has to be injected into me. Most squeemish indeed, but hats off to you Sian – you are a real trooper!

Leave a Reply

