Minding our P’s and Q’s

Standard

Yesterday we did our P’s (P4 / Progesterone) blood test and had loads of Q’s (questions) thereafter! 

The test is a simple blood test to detect whether or not I have ovulated.  We had decided to do the test here in the Midlands at our local hospital’s testing labs instead of travelling the 100km’s to the Doc’s rooms for it.  The Doc’s nurses had okayed us going this route as we did not need to see them or the Doc nor would we need any further meds at this stage, it is simply a test for a progesterone level they want for my file.   The first drama erupted when I casually asked the vampires how long the test results would take.  This should only take a couple of hours.  The vampire responded that it would take 48 hours!  I thought I must have misheard her and assumed she meant 4 to 8 hours which I stated was a rather long time to wait.  She corrected me very quickly, insisting that it takes 48 hours.  Whaaat?!  Yes my friends, we live in the country, where the pace of things is only as fast as your slowest cow.  The vampires said they would push for 24 hours but could not guarantee this.  The Doc’s nurses were shocked but said they could wait.  So we waited.

The test results are in and they came in in just over 24 hours which means we had a kick-ass cow racing the results to the Doc – yeehah!  One of the nurses at the Doc’s rooms told me that my Progesterone level was at 10 – which is apparently not great, it’s borderline something, but considering my condition it is not too bad.  Clear as mud right?  So I Googled the heck out of it; it took a while to find the figures I was looking for but here is what we are to expect (my test was taken 8 days after ovulation) – Possible interpretation of results assuming the test is properly timed are:

1. Progesterone  > 30nmol/l – ovulation has occurred and the corpus luteum is producing sufficient progesterone to induce adequate secretory changes in the endometrium to assist implantation.

2. Progesterone 3-30 nmol/l – ovulation has occurred > 10 days ago or < 5 days ago, or if ovulation did occur 5-10 days ago, the level is probably not adequate to sustain endometrial growth for satisfactory implantation. 

3. Progesterone >120 nmol/l – two or more follicles have been recruited

4. Progesterone < 3nmol/l – no ovulation in previous 14 days.

Sourced here: http://www.fertilityassociates.co.nz/Information-for-GPs/FSH,-Estradiol—Progesterone.aspx

So I fall into point 2 which is not great but hey ho (“and a bottle of rum” as the saying goes – and no I am not drinking while drugging).  So where to now? 

Now I carry on with my drugs till they run out, only 3 little white pills left, and then wait and see where my body takes me.  If all goes well and my periods don’t start (ha ha ha – cynical laugh) then that is a great sign and we see the Doc next Thursday to see if I am pregnant.  However, in all likelihood, my periods will kick in any day now at which point I will need to phone the Doc’s rooms and advise the Programme Coordinator of my period start date and she will chat to the Doc to put my new IVF Programme together for a harvest and implant later this month.

It always boils down to the waiting game.  I had a panic day-before-yesterday (Tuesday) when all my usual premenstrual symptoms kicked in (they were spot on – mild tummy cramps, going to the loo more, etc.).  I phoned the nurses to ask if the P4 test was still necessary if my cycle started – they advised me to do the test regardless.  Thankfully by yesterday morning (the morning of the test) the symptoms had eased up and I felt fine.  Not sure what that means but I am just grateful for any extra days on my notoriously short cycles.  I still get the odd little tummy cramps but I’m hoping that they are nothing to worry about.  Time will tell and so will I.

Leave a Reply

